The Night Tiger

The Night Tiger

Author:
Tag: Kindle Deals: Still On Sale
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Publication Year: 2019
ASIN: 1250175453
ISBN: 1250175453

The Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club and Book of the Month Club Pick. BOTM Club calls this a "magical tale set in colonial Malaysia. If someone told me there's a book out there that's part history, part love story, part coming-of-age, part magical tale... It sounds too good to be true. But here's the thing: This book exists. This is a book that has something for everyone. There's a central mystery to satisfy puzzle-solving readers. There's a will-they-won't-they love story to tug at the heartstrings of every romantic. There's a touch of magic for fantasy fans; a portrait of colonial Malaysia for history buffs; and enough family drama to please those looking for a moving saga. Equal parts nail-biter and heartwarmer, this book transported me into a world entirely unlike my own." For fans of Isabel Allende and Min Jin Lee.

Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
About the Book
The Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“A sumptuous garden maze of a novel that immerses readers in a complex, vanished world.” —Kirkus (starred review)
From New York Times bestselling author Yangsze Choo, an utterly transporting novel set in 1930s colonial Malaysia, perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Min Jin Lee
Quick-witted, ambitious Ji Lin is stuck as an apprentice dressmaker, moonlighting as a dancehall girl to help pay off her mother’s Mahjong debts. But when one of her dance partners accidentally leaves behind a gruesome souvenir, Ji Lin plunges into a dark adventure: a mirror world of secrets and superstitions.
Eleven-year-old houseboy Ren is also on a mission, racing to fulfill his former master’s dying wish: that Ren find the man’s finger, lost years ago in an accident, and bury it with his body. Ren has 49 days to do so, or his master’s soul will wander the earth forever.
As the days tick relentlessly by, a series of unexplained deaths racks the district, along with whispers of men who turn into tigers. Ji Lin and Ren’s increasingly dangerous paths crisscross through lush plantations, hospital storage rooms, and ghostly dreamscapes.
Yangsze Choo’s The Night Tiger pulls us into a world of servants and masters, age-old superstition and modern idealism, sibling rivalry and forbidden love. But anchoring this dazzling, propulsive novel is the intimate coming-of-age of a child and a young woman, each searching for their place in a society that would rather they stay invisible.
“A work of incredible beauty… Astoundingly captivating and striking… A transcendent story of courage and connection.” ―Booklist (starred review)

Look Inside

Mentioned in