House of Salt and Sorrows

House of Salt and Sorrows

Series: Fairytale retellings

A delightfully dark take on The Twelve Dancing Princesses that keeps the gruesome tone of the Grimm brothers' tale. Annaleigh and her sisters live in Highmoor, a grand mansion by the sea. It should be a romantic and peaceful place, but four deaths haunt its halls, each more bone-chilling than the last. The sisters grieve, and the town spreads rumors. When visited by ghosts, Annaleigh starts to suspect that the deaths weren't accidental. Her remaining sisters keep sneaking out to dance at night, and Annaleigh is torn between discouraging their adventure or joining them to investigate. The mystery is further complicated by a stranger shrouded in secrets.

Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from
Buy from Bookshop
About the Book

Annaleigh lives a sheltered life at Highmoor, a manor by the sea, with her sisters, their father, and stepmother. Once they were twelve, but loneliness fills the grand halls now that four of the girls’ lives have been cut short. Each death was more tragic than the last—the plague, a plummeting fall, a drowning, a slippery plunge—and there are whispers throughout the surrounding villages that the family is cursed by the gods.

Disturbed by a series of ghostly visions, Annaleigh becomes increasingly suspicious that the deaths were no accidents. Her sisters have been sneaking out every night to attend glittering balls, dancing until dawn in silk gowns and shimmering slippers, and Annaleigh isn’t sure whether to try to stop them or to join their forbidden trysts. Because who—or what—are they really dancing with?

When Annaleigh’s involvement with a mysterious stranger who has secrets of his own intensifies, it’s a race to unravel the darkness that has fallen over her family—before it claims her next.

Look Inside