The Wrath & the Dawn

The Wrath & the Dawn

Series: Fairytale retellings

An absorbing retelling of One Thousand and One Nights. Khalid, 18-year-old ruler of Khorasan, marries a new bride every night—but come morning, his bride is found dead. Seeking vengeance for the death of her friend, Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid and take his life to save the kingdom. Every night, she tells Khalid enchanting stories to hold his attention and stay alive another day. The more time Shahrzad spends at the palace, the more secrets she uncovers—and the more trust she builds with Khalid. As her feelings grow, her choices get more and more complicated.

Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from
Buy from Bookshop
About the Book

One Life to One Dawn.

In a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend falls victim to Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all.

Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, ensuring her survival, though she knows each dawn could be her last. But something she never expected begins to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’d imagined him to be. This monster is a boy with a tormented heart. Incredibly, Shahrzad finds herself falling in love. How is this possible? It’s an unforgivable betrayal. Still, Shahrzad has come to understand all is not as it seems in this palace of marble and stone. She resolves to uncover whatever secrets lurk and, despite her love, be ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he’s stolen. Can their love survive this world of stories and secrets?

Look Inside