Elizabeth Berg
The Year of Pleasures

The Year of Pleasures

$11.99$1.99Audiobook: 3.99 (Whispersync)

Okay. I wanted to include Berg in the summer reading guide, and of all her novels I read in preparation, this struck me as the most promising. I appreciated Berg’s portrait of small town life, her likable protagonist, and the significance of all kinds of friendships to the story. I especially liked that when the main character was in a bad way, it wasn’t a man who came to her rescue—it was her friends. But I didn’t find it gush-worthy, and since each category only has room for five books, I held out for the novels that did. That being said, many of you will love this, and I’m glad I read it.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Audible.com
What We Keep

What We Keep

$11.99$1.99

From USA Today: "What We Keep is about ties that are buried but not broken, wounds that are dressed but never heal, and love that changes form but somehow survives."

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
We Are All Welcome Here: A Novel

We Are All Welcome Here: A Novel

$11.99$1.99

Berg writes wonderful female characters. This novel features three women struggling for her own kind of freedom in 1964 Tupelo, Mississippi.

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
True to Form

True to Form

$7.99$3.99

The publisher says: "From the writer whose work The New Yorker calls "strong" and "timeless," True to Form is a delicately told tale of a young girl wise beyond her years, whose growing pains finally awaken her to the clarity of forgiveness and a greater understanding of the complicated world around her." Add Audible narration for $3.99.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Audible.com
Say When

Say When

$11.99$3.99

From Booklist: "Popular author Berg will thrill her fans with this sweet, often humorous novel about loss and reconciliation." Add Audible narration for $9.95.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Audible.com
The Dream Lover

The Dream Lover

$11.99$1.99Audiobook: 4.99 (Whispersync)

From the publisher: "Named one of the ten best books of the year by USA Today. Elizabeth Berg has written a lush historical novel based on the sensuous Parisian life of the nineteenth-century writer George Sand—which is perfect for readers of Nancy Horan and Elizabeth Gilbert. Paris in the nineteenth century comes vividly alive, illuminated by the story of the loves, passions, and fierce struggles of a woman who defied the confines of society. Sand’s many lovers and friends include Frédéric Chopin, Gustave Flaubert, Franz Liszt, Eugène Delacroix, Victor Hugo, Marie Dorval, and Alfred de Musset. As Sand welcomes fame and friendship, she fights to overcome heartbreak and prejudice, failure and loss. Though considered the most gifted genius of her time, will the life she longs for always be just out of reach—a dream?" Add Audible narration for $4.99.

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Range of Motion

Range of Motion

$9.99$1.99Audiobook: 7.49 (Whispersync)

From the publisher: "In this exquisite, emotionally rich novel, New York Times best-selling author Elizabeth Berg offers a deeply satisfying story about the bonds of love and the balm of friendship. A young man named Jay lies in a coma after suffering a freak accident, and his wife, Lainey, is the only one who believes he will recover. She sits at his bedside, bringing him reminders of the ordinary life they shared: fragrant flowers, his children's drawings, his own softly textured shirt. When Lainey's faith in his recovery falters, she is sustained by two women, Alice and Evie, who teach her about the endurance of friendship - and the genuine power of hope. Filled with beautiful writing and truths about life, Range of Motion is compelling and impossible to forget." Add Audible narration for $7.49.

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Barnes and Noble Nook
Night of Miracles

Night of Miracles

From the publisher: "Lucille Howard is getting on in years, but she stays busy. Thanks to the inspiration of her dearly departed friend Arthur Truluv, she has begun to teach baking classes, sharing the secrets to her delicious classic Southern yellow cake, the perfect pinwheel cookies, and other sweet essentials. When a new family moves in next door and tragedy strikes, Lucille begins to look out for Lincoln, their son. Lincoln’s parents aren’t the only ones in town facing hard choices and uncertain futures. In these difficult times, the residents of Mason come together and find the true power of community—just when they need it the most."

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Barnes and Noble
Buy from IndieBound
The Story of Arthur Truluv

The Story of Arthur Truluv

From the publisher: "For the past six months, Arthur Moses's days have looked the same: He tends to his rose garden and to Gordon, his cat, then rides the bus to the cemetery to visit his beloved late wife for lunch. Eighteen-year-old Maddy Harris is an introspective girl who visits the cemetery to escape the other kids at school. One afternoon she joins Arthur—a gesture that begins a surprising friendship between two lonely souls. Moved by Arthur’s kindness and devotion, Maddy gives him the nickname 'Truluv.' As Arthur’s neighbor Lucille moves into their orbit, the unlikely trio band together and, through heartache and hardships, help one another rediscover their own potential to start anew. A beautiful and moving novel of compassion in the face of loss, of the small acts that turn friends into family, and of the possibilities to achieve happiness at any age."

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Barnes and Noble Nook