Barbara Pym
Excellent Women

Excellent Women

$14.99$1.99
Author:

A must-read for Austen fans. Alexander McCall Smith, writing for The Guardian, calls this novel "one of the 20th century’s most endearing and amusing novels."

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Jane and Prudence

Jane and Prudence

Author:

The publisher calls this "a literary delight for fans of Jane Austen. Jane Cleveland and Prudence Bates were close friends at Oxford University, but now live very different lives. Forty-one-year-old Jane lives in the country, is married to a vicar, has a daughter she adores, and lives a very proper life in a very proper English parish. Prudence, a year shy of thirty, lives in London, has an office job, and is self-sufficient and fiercely independent—until Jane decides her friend should be married. What follows is a witty, delightful, trenchant story of manners, morals, family, and female bonding that redefines the social novel for a new generation."

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Barnes and Noble Nook
A Glass of Blessings

A Glass of Blessings

Author:

"Wilmet Forsyth is bored. Bored with the everyday routine of her life. Bored with teatimes filled with local gossip. Bored with her husband, Rodney, a civil servant who dotes on her. But on her thirty-third birthday, Wilmet's conventional life takes a turn when she runs into the handsome brother of her close friend." (description from the publisher). Mavis Cheek says, "[Pym] makes me smile, laugh out loud, consider my own foibles and fantasies, and above all, suffer real regret when I reach the final page. Of how many authors can you honestly say that?"

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Barnes and Noble Nook
Less Than Angels

Less Than Angels

Author:

From the publisher: "A tale of a woman’s romantic entanglements with two anthropologists—and the odd mating habits of humans—from the author of Jane and Prudence. Catherine Oliphant writes for women’s magazines and lives comfortably with anthropologist Tom Mallow—although she's starting to wonder if they'll ever get married. Then Tom drops his bombshell: He's leaving her for a nineteen-year-old student. Though stunned by Tom's betrayal, Catherine quickly becomes fascinated by another anthropologist, Alaric Lydgate, a reclusive eccentric recently returned from Africa. As Catherine starts to weigh her options, she must figure out who she is and what she really wants. With a lively cast of characters and a witty look at the insular world of academia, this novel from the much-loved author of Excellent Women and other modern classics is filled with poignant, playful observations about the traits that separate us from our anthropological forebears—far fewer than we may imagine."

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Quartet in Autumn

Quartet in Autumn

From the publisher: "This is the story of four people in late middle-age - Edwin, Norman, Letty and Marcia - whose chief point of contact is that they work in the same office and they suffer the same problem - loneliness. Lovingly, poignantly, satirically and with much humour, Pym conducts us through their small lives and the facade they erect to defend themselves against the outside world. There is nevertheless an obstinate optimism in her characters, allowing them in their different ways to win through to a kind of hope. Barbara Pym's sensitive wit and artistry are at their most sparkling in Quartet in Autumn."

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from IndieBound