My summer reading so far {twitterature}

My summer reading so far {twitterature}

As always, I have crazy ambitious (or delusional) plans for summer reading. I already shared my summer reading list and my nerdy summer syllabus with you; today I’m sharing what I’ve read so far.

(You may notice that half of the books I’ve read so far weren’t on my already-lengthy lists. That’s why getting to all these books might be a problem!)

My (incomplete) summer reading so far:


by Gabrielle Zevin

I suspect you’ll enjoy this more if you come to it with no expectations, so let’s just say this novel is plain good fun for book lovers. I don’t want to say to much, but let’s just say tears were shed. Despite the Kleenex scenes, I highly recommend this for the beach or pool. The European title The Collected Works of A. J. Fikry probably describes the story a little better. Read it—you’ll see what I mean.


by Rainbow Rowell

I was ecstatic to get my hands on Rowell’s newest—which isn’t officially out till July 8—and read it in a day, but (I hate to say it!) it fell flat for me. (Unlike Eleanor & Park, which I loved, and Attachments, which I put in the summer reading guide.) It did make  me wish I’d signed up for improvisational theater in college.



by Dodie Smith

I can see why this 1940s classic makes so many people’s desert island book lists. 17-year-old Cassandra is a remarkable narrator, who captures her eccentric family’s daily life—in their ramshackle old English castle—in her diary. Replete with love, magic, writer’s block, and bear costumes.


by Andy Weir

Think Cast Away, morphed into an outer space adventure story. This isn’t going to make my best-ever list, but I enjoyed it, and I put it into my husband’s hands as soon as I finished.


by Ruth Reichl

If you adore Reichl’s food writing (raises hand), I understand how you won’t be able to pass this one up. If you’re not already a fan of her work, don’t let your curiosity get the best of you. Second novels are usually better. Wait for Reichl’s.


by Mary Beth Whalen

This brand-new, easy-reading novel from the director of She Reads makes me want to visit Sunset Beach. A good one for the beach bag, for fans of Karen Kingsbury and Francine Rivers.

What have you been reading lately?  

(Head here for more details on this crazy thing we call twitterature.)

This post contains my affiliate links. Thanks for supporting MMD!

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestEmail this to someonePrint this page

Tagged , .


  1. Candice says:

    Great reviews! Thanks for continuing to do Twitterature. I love it… I think the last book is by Mary Beth Whalen, not Stevens?

  2. Alissa says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who didn’t love “Landline.” I was disappointed and felt the fantasy element wasn’t well done – and a departure since everything else has been so grounded in modern day (or the recent past). I loved everything else even Fangirl, which to me captured that first year of college so wonderfully.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.