YA historical fiction
Dreamland Burning

Dreamland Burning

This well-crafted YA release smoothly bridges the divide between present-day Tulsa, Oklahoma and the little-known race riots that occurred there during two terrifying days in 1921. During renovations of seventeen-year-old Rowan Chase's historic family home, a skeleton is unearthed in the backyard. The police don't care who the bones belong to, but Rowan sure does. Unbeknownst to her, this skeleton links Rowan with another teen, Will Tillman, who lived in Tulsa nearly a hundred years ago. Latham flips back and forth in time, between two teens facing their own kinds of crossroads, to give her readers a page-turning history/mystery mash-up, as her young protagonists wrestle through issues of family, friendship, identity, and belonging. I read this in an afternoon—I couldn't put it down. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Barnes and Noble
Buy from Bookshop
Lovely War

Lovely War

Berry combines three unexpected elements to great effect: World War I, a love story, and Greek mythology. It begins with Aphrodite and Ares walking into a swanky Manhattan hotel during WWII, and soon enough Aphrodite's husband Hephaestus challenges her to show him what love really looks like. She obliges, and takes the reader back in time to meet four young lovers in 1917 Britain, showing her fellow gods how each couple fell in love, and what they mean to each other. It sounds unlikely but the interesting narrative structure totally works. When we read Lovely War together in the Modern Mrs. Darcy Book Club, Book Club members kept telling me the audio was particularly good, so if you're an audiophile, check it out. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Libro.fm
Buy from Bookshop
Flygirl

Flygirl

I've read many WWII historical fiction stories, but few focus on the Women's Airforce Service Pilots, or WASP, a group that was created by the U.S. Army to help defeat Germany and Japan. Ida Mae's father was a Black pilot who taught her to fly planes, though her race and gender prevent her from following in his footsteps. Eager to soar, Ida is ready to join WASP as a way to fly and to help her brother who is fighting in the Pacific. But when the new organization denies her entry based on her race, Ida's only choice is to pass as white in order to live her dream. Smith expertly explores identity, family, and legacy while immersing her readers in history in this fantastic YA novel. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Bookshop
The Downstairs Girl

The Downstairs Girl

Author:
Series: Quick Lit May 2021
Set in Gilded Age Atlanta, our May 2021 MMD book club pick features a strong, sassy heroine who gets herself into hot water when her anonymous advice column gains popularity among society ladies. Seventeen-year old Jo works as a lady’s maid for the grumpy, privileged daughter of one of the city's wealthiest families, where she overhears the choicest bits of society gossip. In her scarce free time, she writes a column called Dear Miss Sweetie, anonymously, answering questions and addressing contemporary topics affecting both women and people of color in her community. Pretty soon Jo's snarky and smart column is the talk of the town as the fussy society ladies wonder "who is this brilliant young writer?" But some readers are out to expose the real "Miss Sweetie," and Jo encounters unexpected dangers in her secret escapades. Excellent on audio as narrated by Emily Woo Zeller. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Bookshop
Burn Baby Burn

Burn Baby Burn

It's 1977 in New York City. The hot summer sun sizzles on the sidewalk, a major blackout affects most of the city, and a serial killer on the loose spreads fear among thousands of citizens. But seventeen-year-old Nora has her own problems to deal with. Her family struggles to pay rent, her teachers pester her to apply for college, and a cute guy wants to take her out for a date, despite the obvious dangers of being out at night. This atmospheric novel drops the reader directly into a sweltering NYC summer as the teenage protagonist wrestles with problems in her inner and outer world. Marisol Ramirez brings the story to life with her audiobook narration. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Bookshop
Love, Lies and Spies

Love, Lies and Spies

I'm so glad an indie bookseller pressed this novel into my hands! Juliana Telford prefers research over romance. When her father sends her to London to find a husband, she decides to make appearances and put on all the airs, while secretly publishing her research. Then she meets Spencer Northam, a spy who prefers missions over matrimony. When they decide to fake a romance in order to save time for their individual pursuits, it seems like the perfect plan...until their feelings—and some espionage—get in the way of their arrangement. With Austen-like wit and plenty of 19th century historical details, this charming book is perfect for historical romance readers who prefer chaste or low-steam reads. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Bookshop
Saving Savannah

Saving Savannah

This absorbing YA novel is set in the eventful year of 1919 in Washington D.C., when the 1918 flu pandemic is waning. Savannah Riddle lives a privileged life in upper-class African American society, but as she witnesses the burgeoning women's suffrage and New Negro movements around her, she decides to widen her social circle and learn more about people outside her wealthy community. Her new activist friends pull Savannah into their volunteer work and political movements, and as tensions begin to escalate across the city, Savannah feels torn between society's expectations for a privileged young lady and fighting for what she believes in. Don't miss Bolden's author's note—it's a must-read. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Bookshop
Like a Love Story

Like a Love Story

This novel is set in the 1980s: a bit recent for "historical fiction," but we're counting it since this decade feels so far removed to today's teen readers. I enjoyed this book last year after MMD team member Leigh cited it as a favorite of 2020. Here's what she had to say: "This story utterly wrecked me and might be my all-time favorite YA novel. It explores friendship, first love, queerness, AIDS, grief, Madonna, and more. Part of the enjoyment was that it’s set in 1989-1990, when I was nine or ten years old. Judy, Art, and Reza are seventeen and their experiences and changing relationships gave me a new way to relive that time, particularly reflecting on what life was like for the LGBTQ+ community and those coming out in the wake of AIDS. While it’s about grief and loss, it’s also a celebration of the queer community and found family." More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Bookshop
Code Name Verity

Code Name Verity

I thoroughly enjoyed this one, perfect for fans of Kate Quinn. When a British plane crashes in Nazi-occupied territory, one passenger is captured and interrogated. The young girl known as "Verity" faces a spy's worst fear: she must reveal her mission or face certain death. As she carefully writes her confession on scraps of paper, we learn about the escaped pilot, her best friend and mission partner Maddie. In her telling, Verity shares more than just their mission; she tells the story of their very different backgrounds and how they came to serve together. This gripping, action-packed novel about bravery, friendship, and loyalty is excellent on audio, as narrated by Morven Christie and Lucy Gaskell. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Barnes and Noble
Buy from Bookshop
Code Talker: A Novel About the Navajo Marines of World War Two

Code Talker: A Novel About the Navajo Marines of World War Two

Throughout WWII, members of the Navajo nation sent messages back and forth in their native language as an unbreakable code that saved thousands of American lives. This top secret information remained classified until 1968, and when Joseph Bruchac learned about their experiences in the 1970s, he couldn't stop thinking about the importance of language, the American Indian veterans, and the endless stories to be told. After meeting several of the Navajo code talkers and doing plenty of research, Bruchac wrote this fictionalized story about 16-year-old Ned Begay, inspired by real stories of young men who reclaimed pride in their language, yet struggled to be recognized for their service. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Bookshop
Salt to the Sea

Salt to the Sea

You know about the Titanic, and maybe even the Lusitania disaster (the subject of Erik Larson's Dead Wake). But you've likely never heard of the Wilhelm Gustloff, though the number of lives lost dwarfs the number of people who died in those two better-known disasters at sea. The ship was hugely over capacity when it sunk in the Baltic Sea after being hit by Soviet torpedoes. Told in four distinct characters' voices, that of a young nurse, a Prussian soldier, an expecting mother, and a delusional Nazi recruit converge. Sepetys excels at writing historically accurate, page-turning YA novels equally beloved by tweens, teens, and grown-ups. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Bookshop
Pride and Premeditation (Jane Austen Murder Mysteries Book 1)

Pride and Premeditation (Jane Austen Murder Mysteries Book 1)

Pride and Prejudice as a YA murder mystery and courtroom drama? I'm intrigued. More of an adaptation than a retelling, Price's debut novel places Lizzie and Darcy in competing law firms in Regency London. Elizabeth is, as always, a heroine to root for, as she sets out to prove her skills as a solicitor in order to earn her place in Mr. Bennet's practice. Meanwhile, Darcy disapproves of her tactics and meets her with resistance at every turn as they work on the same case: proving Charles Bingley's innocence. Austenites will delight over the Bennet family dynamics, the lively setting, and plenty of recognizable dialogue straight from Jane. Perfect for fans of Death Comes to Pemberly. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Bookshop
My Lady Jane

My Lady Jane

This is certainly the least realistic historical fiction book on this list, but it's such a delight. Fans of The Princess Bride and The Other Boleyn Girl are sure to love. This quirky spin on the true story of Lady Jane Grey, the "Nine Days' Queen who ruled England for that length of time in 1553, features snappy dialogue and a sassy protagonist, as well as spooky ghosts and ominous threats. Sixteen-year-old King Edward has arranged a marriage for Jane in order to secure his line to the throne. He doesn't have much interest in ruling, and she doesn't have much interest in marriage. Duty is the least of their problems because, well... Jane's betrothed turns into a horse every night. It's these ridiculous touches that make the book so much fun. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Libro.fm
Buy from Bookshop