My Favorite Books of 2013
Crossing to Safety

Crossing to Safety

$12.99$5.99Audiobook: 7.49 (Audible)
This gorgeous, graceful novel will appeal to fans of Jayber Crow or Gilead. Stegner makes a compelling story out of four ordinary lives, and has me thinking hard about friendship and calling. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Bookshop
Bread & Wine: A Love Letter to Life Around the Table with Recipes

Bread & Wine: A Love Letter to Life Around the Table with Recipes

This beautiful memoir is about food, and so much more than food. I loved it enough that I included it in my summer reading guide, and am already plotting to re-read it. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Barnes and Noble Nook
Daring Greatly

Daring Greatly

File this one under "game-changer." This wonderfully written book is books-that-can-change-your-life material, and worth reading over and over again. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Bookshop
The Secret Keeper

The Secret Keeper

$26.955.95 (Audible Deal)
I'm finally caught up on all of Kate Morton's novels. This one is my favorite. More info →
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
The Talent Code

The Talent Code

I spent 2013 geeking out on the concept of deliberate practice, and this short little book is dense with wisdom on the subject. This book sat on my to-read stack for the better part of a year before I opened it, and I’m still kicking myself for not reading it sooner. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Eleanor & Park

Eleanor & Park

$9.99$2.99Audiobook: 12.99 (Whispersync)
I fell hard for this short novel of young love, lost. The story line is good but a few deft Shakespeare references elevate it to greatness. Rainbow Rowell’s hinted at a sequel in interviews, and I hope she means it. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Barnes and Noble
Buy from IndieBound
The Getaway Car

The Getaway Car

$2.99$2.51
In this mini-memoir, Patchett sketches a path from childhood through the completion of her first novel, The Patron Saint of Liars. Stops along the way include her college years, a failed marriage, the Iowa writing program, and a waitressing stint at TGIFriday’s. I loved this one enough to include it in the summer reading guide. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Barnes and Noble Nook
When We Were on Fire: A Memoir of Consuming Faith, Tangled Love, and Starting Over

When We Were on Fire: A Memoir of Consuming Faith, Tangled Love, and Starting Over

$10.99$4.99Audiobook: 7.49 (Whispersync)
Author:
Series: 7 underrated memoirs, Book 8
Genre: Christian Living

Addie’s gift is to make you feel the emotional weight of the seemingly no-big-deal yet simultaneously life-altering events common to Christian adolescence and young adulthood. A brilliant debut. (I wrote more about When We Were on Fire here.)

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Barnes and Noble Nook
Lean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead

Lean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead

$4.99$2.99
I’m sure you’ve heard all about it by now, so I’ll just say: this one’s a game-changer. (I wrote more about Lean In here.) More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Barnes and Noble
Buy from IndieBound