My Favorite Books of 2013
Crossing to Safety

Crossing to Safety

$12.99$5.99Audiobook: 7.49 (Audible)
This gorgeous, graceful novel will appeal to fans of Jayber Crow or Gilead. Stegner makes a compelling story out of four ordinary lives, and has me thinking hard about friendship and calling. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Bookshop
Bread & Wine: A Love Letter to Life Around the Table with Recipes

Bread & Wine: A Love Letter to Life Around the Table with Recipes

This beautiful memoir is about food, and so much more than food. I loved it enough that I included it in my summer reading guide, and am already plotting to re-read it. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Barnes and Noble Nook
Daring Greatly

Daring Greatly

File this one under "game-changer." This wonderfully written book is books-that-can-change-your-life material, and worth reading over and over again. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Bookshop
The Secret Keeper

The Secret Keeper

I'm finally caught up on all of Kate Morton's novels. This one is my favorite. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Bookshop
The Talent Code

The Talent Code

I spent 2013 geeking out on the concept of deliberate practice, and this short little book is dense with wisdom on the subject. This book sat on my to-read stack for the better part of a year before I opened it, and I’m still kicking myself for not reading it sooner. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Eleanor & Park

Eleanor & Park

$9.99$2.99Audiobook: 12.99 (Whispersync)
I fell hard for this short novel of young love, lost. The story line is good but a few deft Shakespeare references elevate it to greatness. Rainbow Rowell’s hinted at a sequel in interviews, and I hope she means it. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Barnes and Noble
Buy from IndieBound
The Getaway Car

The Getaway Car

$2.99$2.51
In this mini-memoir, Patchett sketches a path from childhood through the completion of her first novel, The Patron Saint of Liars. Stops along the way include her college years, a failed marriage, the Iowa writing program, and a waitressing stint at TGIFriday’s. I loved this one enough to include it in the summer reading guide. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Barnes and Noble Nook
When We Were on Fire: A Memoir of Consuming Faith, Tangled Love, and Starting Over

When We Were on Fire: A Memoir of Consuming Faith, Tangled Love, and Starting Over

$10.99$4.99Audiobook: 7.49 (Whispersync)
Author:
Series: 7 underrated memoirs, Book 8
Genre: Christian Living

Addie’s gift is to make you feel the emotional weight of the seemingly no-big-deal yet simultaneously life-altering events common to Christian adolescence and young adulthood. A brilliant debut. (I wrote more about When We Were on Fire here.)

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Barnes and Noble Nook
Lean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead

Lean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead

$4.99$2.99
I’m sure you’ve heard all about it by now, so I’ll just say: this one’s a game-changer. (I wrote more about Lean In here.) More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Barnes and Noble
Buy from IndieBound