12 local authors
Don’t Overthink It: Make Easier Decisions, Stop Second-Guessing, and Bring More Joy to Your Life

Don’t Overthink It: Make Easier Decisions, Stop Second-Guessing, and Bring More Joy to Your Life

I must admit, it's thrilling to find yourself on the shelf of local authors at your neighborhood bookstore! Stay at home orders interrupted my book tour, but signing copies at my local bookstore provided a much needed sense of celebration. If you've been struggling with decision fatigue, overwhelm, and overthinking, this friendly guide to overcoming negative thought patterns is for you. In Don't Overthink It, you'll find actionable strategies that can make an immediate and lasting difference in how you deal with questions both large and small. Don't Overthink It offers you a framework for making choices you'll be comfortable with, freeing you to focus on what really matters in life. More info →
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Barnes and Noble
Buy from Bookshop
So We Can Glow: Stories

So We Can Glow: Stories

I enjoyed Leesa's novel set in Louisville, Whiskey and Ribbons, and eagerly picked up her newest short story collection just in time to talk with her on Stay at Home Book Tour. (Watch Leesa's session right here.) I thoroughly enjoyed this sophisticated short story collection, which takes the reader on quite a ride, emotionally speaking. My personal favorites are The Great Barrier Reef Is Dying And So Are We and Girlheart Cake with Glitter Frosting (I could have read ten more pages of that one!). Don't miss Leesa's acknowledgements. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Bookshop
The Seven Storey Mountain

The Seven Storey Mountain

Merton's autobiography has been translated into more than 20 different languages; it's considered one of the most influential religious works of our time. At age 26, Merton took vows to become a Trappist monk—one of the strictest, most demanding Catholic orders involving silence and constant prayer. This book follows his journey of withdrawal and immersion, written from the Abbey of Gethsemani in Kentucky. His commitment to a higher calling and strong writing voice stand out in his autobiography. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Bookshop
The Birds of Opulence

The Birds of Opulence

"An African American feminist writer from Kentucky," Crystal Wilkinson was the 2019 Appalachian writer in residence at Shepherd University and has won several awards for her lyrical writing. The Louisville Review says of her writing: "on the surface, one can hear echoes of predecessors such as Zora Neale Hurston and Toni Morrison." The Birds of Opulence features her lush prose and an intergenerational story about mental illness, survival, and relationships. Described as tragic and hopeful, this sweeping story is exactly the kind of complicated family novel I adore. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Bookshop
Three Ways to Disappear

Three Ways to Disappear

Author:
Series: 12 local authors
I got to talk with local author Katy Yocom on What Should I Read Next Episode 231: Lush literary novels with page-turning appeal. Her book takes place in India and Kentucky, while one nomadic sister travels to India to help save the endangered Bengal tigers and the other stays home in Kentucky offering support from afar. A complicated family story weaves in and out of a travel narrative with stunning descriptions and increasing tension. In her WSIRN episode, Katy mentioned being constantly on the hunt for absorbing novels with plots that not only incorporate the natural world, but ones in which the story absolutely depends upon it. Her fondness for nature writing shines in her own book as well. More info →
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Bookshop
The Bourbon Kings

The Bourbon Kings

Author:
Series: 12 local authors
Ward is best known for her vampire romance series The Black Dagger Brotherhood, but I thought it more Kentucky-appropriate to highlight her latest series about a wealthy southern family with a bourbon empire. This upstairs-downstairs novel sounds a bit like the Audrey Hepburn movie Sabrina. Head gardener Lizzie King falls in love with Tulane, troublemaker son of the Bradford bourbon dynasty. Two years after their break-up, he returns to his family home and the two meet again. As you can imagine, drama (and romance) soon follows. I haven't read this one, but I'm pretty sure Ward writes open door romance. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Bookshop
The Thing About Leftovers

The Thing About Leftovers

Author:
Series: 12 local authors
My 12 year old LOVES this book. Fizzy is committed to being a "good southern girl" and winning the Southern Living cook-off. That first part proves difficult, as Fizzy stifles her feelings and deals with her parents' divorce. She just wants to yell, to share her feelings, to say what she means. But a good southern girl says "yes ma'am" and keeps it inside. The cook-off, plus a couple of new friends, make the perfect distraction, and might just teach Fizzy about speaking up and expressing herself. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Bookshop
Hannah Coulter

Hannah Coulter

I've talked about Hannah Coulter several times: the books I can't stop recommending, a book I've read more than once, what to read when you feel like the world is falling apart. I adore Berry, who writes gorgeous, thoughtful, piercing novels, and this is one of his finest. Hannah's second husband Nathan Coulter (her first died in the war) was reticent to talk about his experience in the Battle of Okinawa. "Ignorant boys, killing each other," is all he would say. In this atmospheric novel, an older Hannah looks back on her life and reflects on what she has lost, and those whom she has loved. Her recollections paint a vivid portrait of a complicated, loving family. Contemplative, wistful, and moving. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Bookshop
Cleanness

Cleanness

Fun fact: Garth Greenwell and I used to walk to school together. His books explore desire, power, and sexual identity. This one reads like a collection of interrelated short stories. In Sofia, Bulgaria, an American teacher reflects on his life and relationships. Each story from his past touches on themes of connection to people, places, and ourselves. Critically acclaimed for his lyrical writing, Greenwell's work will appeal to fans of Brandon Taylor, Jenny Offill, or Ottessa Moshfegh. Heads up for frank and detailed writing about sex. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Bookshop
Flight Behavior: A Novel

Flight Behavior: A Novel

$8.99$2.99Audiobook: 8.49 (Whispersync)
Kingsolver grew up in Kentucky, and sets this novel in southern Appalachia. When a young woman sees something inexplicable in nature, her experience creates tension between religious leaders, scientists, politicians, and climate change experts with different views on what exactly she witnessed. Suspenseful and page-turning, I thought this finely crafted novel had many wonderful moments and a truly horrible ending. (That's not a reason to skip: bad endings make for great book club reading.) And check out the audiobook, narrated by Kingsolver herself. It's unusual for novelists to read their own work, but Kingsolver's lyrical voice perfectly suits her prose. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Bookshop
A is for Alibi

A is for Alibi

$7.99$2.99
Author:
Series: 12 local authors
I knew of Sue Grafton's mystery novel fame, but I didn't connect her to Louisville until seeing her gardens in Garden & Gun Magazine. Grafton is best known for her Kinsey Millhone Alphabet Mysteries. In the first novel, Kinsey sets up a new detective agency in Santa Teresa, California. She's a classic noir detective—twice-divorced, a loner, fond of the underdog—and she finds herself drawn in by a woman out on parole for her own husband's murder. As the twists keep coming, Kinsey finds herself in more and more danger. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Bookshop
Southernmost

Southernmost

Author:
Series: 12 local authors
I've been following Silas House's career ever since a friend raved about his YA debut Eli the Good. I would have loved to have heard him speak a few years ago in Louisville, but alas—I was out of town, and took this book along. The story centers on Asher Sharp, a Pentecostal preacher in rural Tennessee. When a flood devastates his community, he offers shelter to two gay men—and his congregation's reaction prompts a crisis of faith, and a public meltdown, the video of which goes viral. In the aftermath he flees to Key West (hence the title) to deal with unfinished business from his past. Warm and reflective, with House's familiar beautiful prose. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Bookshop