The Poisonwood Bible

The Poisonwood Bible

Series: 17 Books Published the Decade You Were Born, Book 10
Genre: Literary Fiction
Tag: 2012 Reading Guide
Length: 570 pages
ASIN: 0061577073

Southern Baptist Missionary Nathan Price heads off to the African Congo with his wife and 4 daughters in 1959, and nothing goes as planned. Though they bring with them everything they think they will need from their home in Bethlehem, Georgia--right down to the Betty Crocker cake mixes--the Prices are woefully unprepared for their new life among the Congolese, and they all pay the price.

Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from
Buy from IndieBound
About the Book

Publisher’s description:

The Poisonwood Bible is a story told by the wife and four daughters of Nathan Price, a fierce, evangelical Baptist who takes his family and mission to the Belgian Congo in 1959. They carry with them everything they believe they will need from home, but soon find that all of it—from garden seeds to Scripture—is calamitously transformed on African soil. What follows is a suspenseful epic of one family’s tragic undoing and remarkable reconstruction over the course of three decades in postcolonial Africa.