The Bodyguard

The Bodyguard

Author:
ASIN: B09CNFRZDC

A workaholic/badass bodyguard falls for the hunky actor she’s paid to protect in Center’s swoony new read about finding love and mending fences. Hannah Brooks may look like a kindergarten teacher, but that’s just one reason she’s a sought-after executive protection agent. Reclusive but adored actor Jack Stapleton doesn’t want a bodyguard at all, and he definitely doesn’t want his ailing mother to know he needs protection from a stalker. But his manager insists. When he meets Hannah—and when she lays him flat on his back with her badass bodyguard skills—not only does he want to hire her, he wants her to pose as his girlfriend so no one will suspect a thing. Complications ensue. Happiness for Beginners remains my favorite, but with its endearing protagonists, adorable banter, winning sense of humor, and fun industry details for both leads, this one is piles of breezy fun. Closed door. For fans of Mikaella Clements and Onjuli Datta’s The View Was Exhausting and Annabel Monaghan’s Nora Goes Off Script.

Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Bookshop
About the Book

New York Times bestselling author Katherine Center’s The Bodyguard is unabashedly romantic, laugh-out-loud funny, and the perfect summer read.

“Great rollicking fun! Prepare to laugh and swoon and grin your pants off.”—Helen Hoang, New York Timesbestselling author of The Heart Principle

She’s got his back.
Hannah Brooks looks more like a kindergarten teacher than somebody who could kill you with a wine bottle opener. Or a ballpoint pen. Or a dinner napkin. But the truth is, she’s an Executive Protection Agent (aka “bodyguard”), and she just got hired to protect superstar actor Jack Stapleton from his middle-aged, corgi-breeding stalker.

He’s got her heart.
Jack Stapleton’s a household name—captured by paparazzi on beaches the world over, famous for, among other things, rising out of the waves in all manner of clingy board shorts and glistening like a Roman deity. But a few years back, in the wake of a family tragedy, he dropped from the public eye and went off the grid.

They’ve got a secret.
When Jack’s mom gets sick, he comes home to the family’s Texas ranch to help out. Only one catch: He doesn’t want his family to know about his stalker. Or the bodyguard thing. And so Hannah—against her will and her better judgment—finds herself pretending to be Jack’s girlfriend as a cover. Even though her ex, like a jerk, says no one will believe it.

What could possibly go wrong???
Hannah hardly believes it, herself. But the more time she spends with Jack, the more real it all starts to seem. And there lies the heartbreak. Because it’s easy for Hannah to protect Jack. But protecting her own, long-neglected heart? That’s the hardest thing she’s ever done.

More Praise for The Bodyguard:
“My perfect 10 of a book. As funny and sweet as all the very best nineties rom-coms, but with Center’s signature heart-tugging depth. I wish I could erase it from my mind just to read it again for the first time. A shot of pure joy.”—Emily Henry, #1
New York Times bestselling author of Book Lovers

The Bodyguard is absolutely, unequivocally delightful!”—Jodi Picoult, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Wish You Were Here

“Center brings her signature warmth and wit to this movie-ready premise, blending a heartwarming romance with quirky side characters. Hannah is an endearing and vulnerable lead. Center delivers another satisfying, romantic read with a swoonworthy hero and a delightful main character.” –Kirkus

Look Inside

Mentioned in