Magic for Liars

Magic for Liars

Series: 25 Boarding School Books

This is a noir detective procedural set at a school of magic. Ivy, a private investigator who’s down on her luck, is called to investigate gruesome murder at the school where her twin sister works. It’s not going to be straightforward and simple to figure out how a woman got split in half by a magical spell in a library. Plus, these sisters have a complex relationship—they haven’t seen each other in ten years and the cause of the rift is because Tabitha was magic and Ivy was not. Gailey plays with the family saga but also magic teens and the noir novel so you get to see how they’re subtly turning the genres in really fun ways.

Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from
Buy from Bookshop
About the Book


Sharp, mainstream fantasy meets compelling thrills of investigative noir in Magic for Liars, a fantasy debut by rising star Sarah Gailey.

Ivy Gamble was born without magic and never wanted it.

Ivy Gamble is perfectly happy with her life – or at least, she’s perfectly fine.

She doesn’t in any way wish she was like Tabitha, her estranged, gifted twin sister.

Ivy Gamble is a liar.

When a gruesome murder is discovered at The Osthorne Academy of Young Mages, where her estranged twin sister teaches Theoretical Magic, reluctant detective Ivy Gamble is pulled into the world of untold power and dangerous secrets. She will have to find a murderer and reclaim her sister—without losing herself.

“An unmissable debut.”—Adrienne Celt, author of Invitation to a Bonfire

At the Publisher’s request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Look Inside