If You Come Softly

If You Come Softly

Author:
Series: 15 narrators (Jacqueline Woodson)
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Year: 2010
ASIN: 0142415227
ISBN: 0142415227

From the publisher: "A lyrical story of star-crossed love perfect for readers of The Hate U Give, by national ambassador for children's literature Jacqueline Woodson - now celebrating its 20th anniversary, and including a new preface by the author. Jeremiah feels good inside his own skin. That is, when he's in his own Brooklyn neighborhood. But now he's going to be attending a fancy prep school in Manhattan, and black teenage boys don't exactly fit in there. So it's a surprise when he meets Ellie the first week of school. In one frozen moment their eyes lock, and after that they know they fit together - even though she's Jewish and he's black. Their worlds are so different, but to them that's not what matters. Too bad the rest of the world has to get in their way. Jacqueline Woodson's work has been called "moving and resonant" (Wall Street Journal) and "gorgeous" (Vanity Fair). If You Come Softly is a powerful story of interracial love that leaves readers wondering 'why' and 'if only...'"

Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Libro.fm
About the Book

A lyrical story of star-crossed love perfect for readers of The Hate U Give, by National Ambassador for Children’s Literature Jacqueline Woodson

Jacqueline Woodson is the 2018-2019 National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature

Jeremiah feels good inside his own skin. That is, when he’s in his own Brooklyn neighborhood. But now he’s going to be attending a fancy prep school in Manhattan, and black teenage boys don’t exactly fit in there. So it’s a surprise when he meets Ellie the first week of school. In one frozen moment their eyes lock, and after that they know they fit together–even though she’s Jewish and he’s black. Their worlds are so different, but to them that’s not what matters. Too bad the rest of the world has to get in their way.

Jacqueline Woodson’s work has been called “moving and resonant” (Wall Street Journal) and “gorgeous” (Vanity Fair). Now celebrating its twentieth anniversary, and including a new preface by the author, If You Come Softly is a powerful story of interracial love that leaves readers wondering “why” and “if only . . .”

Other books in "15 narrators (Jacqueline Woodson)"
Look Inside