Gather Together in My Name

Gather Together in My Name

Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks
Publication Year: 2009
ASIN: 0812980301
ISBN: 9780812980301

Picking up where I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings left off, this second volume of Maya Angelou's autobiographical series starts at the end of World War II, an optimistic time. But for Angelou, it's a difficult few years. Angelou is in her teens with a baby son. She goes through men and through jobs and tries to go home again–but finds it no longer a fit. The Chicago Tribune calls this "funny-sad." Angelou writes here with her usual sense of dignity, humor, triumph, and wisdom.

Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
About the Book

In this second volume of her poignant autobiographical series, Maya Angelou powerfully captures the struggles and triumphs of her passionate life with dignity, wisdom, humor, and humanity.

“A curiously heartening story in which decency, honor, truth, love do exist, imperfectly, fractionally and flickeringly, not in some Platonic realm of the ideal, but in the flawed lives of real men and women.”
—The Washington Post

Gather Together in My Name continues Maya Angelou’s personal story, begun so unforgettably in I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings. The time is the end of World War II and there is a sense of optimism everywhere. Maya Angelou, still in her teens, has given birth to a son. But the next few years are difficult ones as she tries to find a place in the world for herself and her child. She goes from job to job–and from man to man. She tries to return home–back to Stamps, Arkansas–but discovers that she is no longer part of that world. Then Maya’s life takes a dramatic turn, and she faces new challenges and temptations.

Look Inside

Mentioned in