Counting By 7s

Counting By 7s

Author:
Series: Quick Lit November 2016, Book 2
Length: 386 pages
ASIN: 014242286X

This is the favorite of my 9-year-old, Lucy. She picked it out at the bookstore because a friend had told her it was good, plus she loved the cover (that's a real thing, so we work with it). I was a little concerned it might be heavy for her (read the summary and you'll see what I mean), but she loved this story about a lonely girl who overcomes adversity in the way that fitting for <em>her</em>. Adults, you won't be sorry if you pick this up for yourself, regardless of whether or not you have kids of your own.

Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
About the Book

Publisher’s description:

A New York Times Bestseller

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now.

Suddenly Willow’s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

Other books in "Quick Lit November 2016"
Look Inside