Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha Book 1)

Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha Book 1)

Author:
Series: 20 terrific tomes for your TBR: to be read
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Publication Year: 2018
ASIN: 1250170974
ISBN: 1250170974

According to Teen Vogue, it took Adeyemi "45 drafts and 18 months to complete her book because of her commitment to getting all the small but crucial cultural details in the story right." Inspired by West African folklore and mythology, this fantasy has already been optioned for film and taken the YA world by storm. It features Zélie Adebolam, who has a chance to bring back magic and use it to bring down the monarchy in Orïsha.

Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from IndieBound
About the Book

With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

“A phenomenon.” Entertainment Weekly

“The epic I’ve been waiting for.” New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu

“You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!” New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

“The next big thing in literature and film.” Ebony

“One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear.” Teen Vogue

This title has Common Core connections.

#1 New York Times bestseller, March 14, 2018

Look Inside