Julia Alvarez
How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents

How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents

Alvarez tells a fictionalized version of her biography in fifteen interconnected stories. The Garcia girls, four sisters, arrive in New York in 1960—a huge change from their cushioned, wealthy lives in the Dominican Republic. As they acclimate to their new home, mourn what's lost, and find themselves, the sisters share a close bond. The chapters alternate with each sister's perspective, giving the reader a vivid glimpse at four different coming-of-age stories.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Bookshop