Quick Lit December 2016
The Accidental Tourist

The Accidental Tourist

$11.99$2.99Audiobook: 7.49 (Audible)
I've been reading to read Anne Tyler for years, and when podcast guest Rebecca Smith (Jane Austen's 5x great niece) said she thought Tyler should be recommended reading for Jane Austen fans, I finally took the plunge. This was an enjoyable read that wasn't anything like I expected, and was relatable in surprising ways. (Any recommendations for what Anne Tyler novel to read next?) More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
The Sparrow

The Sparrow

This is another one I've been meaning to read for ages, especially because it's on the favorite-books-EVER lists of some of my favorite readers. This seems like a painful book to have as your favorite, just because it's so very sad. It took me a hundred pages to get into it but once I did I couldn't wait to find out what would happen next. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Barnes and Noble Nook
A Deeper Darkness

A Deeper Darkness

J.T. Ellison joined the MMD Book Club last month to talk about reading and writing psychological thrillers and I read this in preparation. I loved this series opener for her Dr. Samantha Owens series and read it in just one night, and when I finally figured out the mystery it wasn't at all what I expected. (J.T.'s best advice for thriller-loving readers: Stop looking for the twist!) More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Barnes and Noble Nook
The City Baker’s Guide to Country Living: A Novel

The City Baker’s Guide to Country Living: A Novel

This was a fun, more-or-less lighthearted read about a Boston pastry chef who flees to the country after literally setting her workplace on fire with a flambéed dessert. Perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan's The Little Beach Street Bakery or Laura Dave's Eight Hundred Grapes. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Barnes and Noble Nook
What I Saw And How I Lied

What I Saw And How I Lied

$9.99$5.99Audiobook: 7.49 (Whispersync)
When Gretchen Rubin was on What Should I Read Next, she talked me into this modern YA classic that had somehow never made it on my radar, despite being a National Book Award winner in 2008. This was a dark kind of fun, easy to read and hard to put down. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Barnes and Noble
Buy from IndieBound