2019 Fall Book Preview
This Tender Land: A Novel

This Tender Land: A Novel

I read Krueger's first book, Iron Lake, this summer, recommended by a reader as a good series for someone who had run out of Louise Penny novels, and I really enjoyed it. I'm eager to read more from Krueger. This new standalone novel is drawing comparisons to Where the Crawdads Sing and Before We Were Yours, and being pitched as part Grapes of Wrath, part Huckleberry Finn. Publication date: September 3, 2019. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from IndieBound
The Nanny: A Novel

The Nanny: A Novel

I've read and enjoyed previous books by Macmillan, like What She Knew and The Perfect Girl. I wasn't sure if I was going to read this one, but then my mystery-loving (and mystery-writing loving friends chimed to tell me how much they loved it. One reviewer described this as "a twisted version of Downton Abbey gone very, very wrong." Publication date: September 10, 2019. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from IndieBound
The Ten Thousand Doors of January

The Ten Thousand Doors of January

I recommended this on a recent episode of WSIRN: episode 196 with Anudeep Reddy as a gateway fantasy, a fantasy novel for people who don't like fantasy. I loved this so much that we're reading this in February with the Modern Mrs. Darcy Book Club. This is a literary mystery, a book about books, coming-of-age story, a tale of adventure and suspense and revenge, and tattoo artistry is a main theme. This was creative and inventive and lots of fun. Also note, this was great on audio. Publication date: September 10, 2019. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from IndieBound
The Dutch House: A Novel

The Dutch House: A Novel

If you're a Patreon supporter, you heard about this months ago, but I most recently recommended this on WSIRN episode 201 to a reader who loves sibling stories and meaty family sagas. Nobody can do a richly layered family saga unfolding over decades like Ann Patchett. I already want to read this one again. Audiophile alert: the audio is narrated by Tom Hanks. Publication date: September 24, 2019. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from IndieBound
The Water Dancer

The Water Dancer

I'm really excited for this one, as many people are. Here's what I know: Ta-Nehisi Coates wrote a novel and I'm going to read it. Booklist says, "Coates brings his considerable talent for racial and social analysis to his debut novel, which captures the brutality of slavery and explores the underlying truth that slaveholders could not dehumanize the enslaved without also dehumanizing themselves. Beautifully written, this is a deeply and soulfully imagined look at slavery and human aspirations." Publication date: September 24, 2019. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from IndieBound
A Bitter Feast: A Novel (Duncan Kincaid/Gemma James Novels)

A Bitter Feast: A Novel (Duncan Kincaid/Gemma James Novels)

This is book #18, but listen to me talk about the first in the series, A Share in Death, on One Great Book. You should definitely read this series in order. Crombie loves the classics like Agatha Christie and something I love about her series is that you get the characters' personal lives in every novel, but you also get the procedural and they have a strong sense of place. I love this British mystery series, and highly recommend it for Louise Penny fans. Publication date: October 8, 2019. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from IndieBound
Olive, Again: A Novel

Olive, Again: A Novel

A follow-up novel to the 2009 Pulitzer winner Olive Kitteridge is BIG NEWS. But would you believe I still haven't read it? Maybe I'll read both Olive books together this fall. Publication date: October 15, 2019. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from IndieBound
Nothing to See Here

Nothing to See Here

This was the first bonus episode of the season for One Great Book and then I turned right around and recommended it on episode 201 of What Should I Read Next of WSIRN. This is about an important political family that has a tiny little problem—their kids catch fire when they get mad. It's the perfect blend of the very real emotional family and the bizarre, which lets the author address serious things—life, work, power, ambition, relationships—without getting precious about it. This was a lot of fun on audio. Publication date: October 29, 2019. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from IndieBound
The Starless Sea: A Novel

The Starless Sea: A Novel

At long last, Erin Morgenstern, author of The Night Circus, has a new book on the way. Entertainment Weekly calls this "sweeping... an epic romance within a secret underground world of lost cities, handsome pirates, and endless puzzles to be solved." This is a big, fat release with an initial print run is 500,000 copies (more than any other title on this list). Publication date: November 5, 2019. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from IndieBound
Tuesday Mooney Talks to Ghosts

Tuesday Mooney Talks to Ghosts

Kate Racculia wrote a sleeper hit so many of you LOVE, 2014's Bellweather Rhapsody, and I knew you'd be delighted for this new release! Erika Swyler, bestselling author of The Book of Speculation and Light from Other Stars said, "Tuesday Mooney Talks to Ghosts is so much fun it should be criminal. A mystery hidden in a game, hidden in a romp around Boston, with intrigue, a little romance, and a ghost? Perfection. Racculia has a gift for both humor and creating deeply relatable oddballs. Genuinely funny, whip-smart, and at times profound, it is a novel that reminds us both of the pure joy of play, and the importance of finding people who matter." Publication date: October 8, 2019. More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from IndieBound