The Rose Garden

The Rose Garden

From Booklist: "Kearsley makes the impossible seem real as she weaves a tale full of genuine characters and a strong sense of place and makes history come alive." This historical time travel/ historical romance has served as a gateway to the genre for many a reader. Eva heads to Cornwall after the death of her sister, looking for comfort in the home where they spent their childhood summers. Once there, she realizes the house is a portal to the 18th century and she can talk to the house’s inhabitants from back then. Not only that, she starts falling for Daniel but being with him requires staying in the past. A lovely exploration of grief and the ways we figure out where (and when) we truly belong.

Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Barnes and Noble
Buy from Bookshop
About the Book

Publisher’s description:

Eva returns to the only place that has ever felt like home, but she quickly discovers she is not alone in the old house on the Cornwall coast. The past reaches out to touch the present in this beautiful love story and haunting mystery.

“Whatever time we have,” he said, “it will be time enough.”

Eva Ward returns to the only place she truly belongs, the old house on the coast of Cornwall, England, seeking happiness in memories of childhood summers.

There she finds mysterious voices and hidden pathways that sweep her not only into the past, but also into the arms of a man who is not of her time.

But Eva must confront her own ghosts, as well as those of long ago. As she begins to question her place in the present, she comes to realize that she too must decide where she really belongs.

A modern gothic historical fiction with elements of time travel, reincarnation, and romance from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Susanna Kearsley.

Fans of Diana Gabaldon, Mary Stewart, Kate Morton, and Daphne Du Maurier will want to join Julia and Mariana on their journeys to love, past and present.

Other great books by Susanna Kearsley:
The Winter Sea – Winner of an RT Reviewers Choice Award, RITA finalist, finalist for the UK’s Romantic Novel of the Year Award
The Firebird – RITA Winner, Paranormal Romance
Mariana – Winner of the Catherine Cookson Fiction Prize