What I’ve been reading lately: the new and the notable

What I’ve been reading lately: the new and the notable

Welcome to Quick Lit, where we share short and sweet reviews of what we’ve been reading lately.

This month I’ve been making up for lost time, reading quite a few titles I’ve been meaning to read for ages.

Series: Quick Lit December 2016
A Deeper Darkness

A Deeper Darkness

Author:
J.T. Ellison joined the MMD Book Club last month to talk about reading and writing psychological thrillers and I read this in preparation. I loved this series opener for her Dr. Samantha Owens series and read it in just one night, and when I finally figured out the mystery it wasn't at all what I expected. (J.T.'s best advice for thriller-loving readers: Stop looking for the twist!) More info →
The City Baker’s Guide to Country Living: A Novel

The City Baker’s Guide to Country Living: A Novel

Author:
This was a fun, more-or-less lighthearted read about a Boston pastry chef who flees to the country after literally setting her workplace on fire with a flambéed dessert. Perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan's The Little Beach Street Bakery or Laura Dave's Eight Hundred Grapes. More info →
The Accidental Tourist

The Accidental Tourist

Author:
I've been reading to read Anne Tyler for years, and when podcast guest Rebecca Smith (Jane Austen's 5x great niece) said she thought Tyler should be recommended reading for Jane Austen fans, I finally took the plunge. This was an enjoyable read that wasn't anything like I expected, and was relatable in surprising ways. (Any recommendations for what Anne Tyler novel to read next?) More info →
The Sparrow

The Sparrow

This is another one I've been meaning to read for ages, especially because it's on the favorite-books-EVER lists of some of my favorite readers. This seems like a painful book to have as your favorite, just because it's so very sad. It took me a hundred pages to get into it but once I did I couldn't wait to find out what would happen next. More info →
What I Saw And How I Lied

What I Saw And How I Lied

Author:
When Gretchen Rubin was on What Should I Read Next, she talked me into this modern YA classic that had somehow never made it on my radar, despite being a National Book Award winner in 2008. This was a dark kind of fun, easy to read and hard to put down. More info →

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestEmail this to someonePrint this page

41 comments

  1. Jess says:

    A Spool of Blue Thread was beautiful and such an interesting exploration of the experiences of a family through three generations. I definitely recommend it!

  2. Lynn Attley says:

    The Sparrow is one of my all time favourite books because I read the sequel Children of God. What you think you know by the end of the first book totally changes as you read the second. It brings depth of understanding to so many characters and events. Friends who did not love The Sparrow had a change of heart after reading Children of God.

  3. Dawn says:

    Ladder of Years was my first Anne Tyler read, and I have since read almost everything she has written. It remains my favorite. It is just so easy to identify with for me. A Spool of Blue Thread is prolly close to my second favorite. But I am a HUGE Anne Tyler fan, so I love them all!!

  4. I’m excited that you read The Sparrow!! Glad it was one you liked.

    I am a big Anne Tyler fan. My all-time favorite is Saint Maybe, then Digging to America. The only one I really didn’t like was The Beginner’s Goodbye. It doesn’t feel like her work at all.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.