WSIRN Ep 66: Books that glitter, sparkle, and pop

WSIRN Ep 66: Books that glitter, sparkle, and pop

Hello readers, it's Tuesday again! Time for a freshly brewed episode of What Should I Read Next. 

Today's completely awesome guest is Megan Tietz, host of the Sorta Awesome podcast, which brightens my personal podcast listening routine each week. Some things to know about Megan - she’s an enneagram 9, just like me, she is a textbook ENFP, she LOVES - I mean LOVES - The Great Gatsby, and she is a bright, bubbly joy to talk to. In this episode we talk personality types, broken hearts, books that betray you, and also dig into practical topics, like how working on a podcast affects her reading life.

Make sure to check out Megan's podcast, Sorta Awesome:
Website | iTunes | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter!

(Need a good jumping-off point? Here's the episode I guest-hosted!)

You can also connect with Megan on her personal Twitter and Instagram

Books mentioned in this episode:

• The Sound of Gravel, by Ruth Wariner
• The Great Gatsby, by F. Scott Fitzgerald
• Carry On, by Rainbow Rowell
• Fangirl, by Rainbow Rowell
• The Ragamuffin Gospel, by Brennan Manning
• All Is Grace, by Brennan Manning
• Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, by Jenny Lawson
• Among the Ten Thousand Things, by Julia Pierpont
• An Unnecessary Woman, by Rabih Alameddine
• An Anthropology of Turqoise, by Ellen Meloy
• One True Loves, by Taylor Jenkins Reed
• Atonement, by Ian McEwan
• Rules of Civility, by Amor Towles
• Special Topics in Calamity Physics, by Marisha Pessl
• The Almost Sisters, by Joshilyn Jackson
• Roller Girl, by Victoria Jamieson
• Homesick for Another World, by Ottessa Moshfeg

Also mentioned: 
• "How I Read 313 Books In One Year" via Leigh Kramer
Anne's guest episode on SortaAwesome podcast

Sponsors:

Madison Reed is salon-quality hair color with an authentic personal touch. Find your perfect shade at Madison-Reed.com and get 10% off plus free shipping on your first color kit with code READNEXT.

 

Escape the winter blues with exciting new fiction from Revell Books! Their new releases like Purgatory Road, Moving Target, and A Moonbow Night will keep you on the edge of your seat.

Prep Dish is a healthy subscription-based meal planning service. When you sign up, you’ll receive an email every week with a grocery list and instructions for prepping your meals ahead of time. After a couple of hours on the weekend, you’ll have all of your meals ready for the entire week. Choose from gluten-free, paleo, auto-immune protocol, or the Whole 30-compliant reset plan.

Prep Dish’s founder Allison is giving What Should I Read next listeners a free two-week trial. To get started with this amazing deal click here to go the PrepDish site and use the code READNEXT to get your free two-week trial. You can’t beat that!

 

What do YOU think Megan should read next? Tell us in comments!

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestEmail this to someonePrint this page

18 comments

  1. Bailie says:

    I really enjoyed the discussion on this episode on e-readers. In a few weeks my husband and I are moving from Sweden to the US and since all of our things have been packed up and shipped and I had to return all my library books I have been turning to my iPad for my literary fix. I was not excited at first but have now read 9(!) cozy mysteries on it and have loved it. Of course I keep having to sit close to wall when I forget to charge it! I have downloaded One True Love for our flight.

  2. Marie says:

    I loved this episode! Megan sounds so fun and warm. I appreciated the mention of her love for Lebanon as I’ve lived there for four years–first as a Masters student and then again after I married my Lebanese husband. We’re now living in Southern Turkey to help with relief efforts in Syria, but I miss Lebanon and I definitely purchased An Unnecessary Woman right away for my kindle. I’ve also just subscribed to Sorta Awesome!
    Thanks for another great show Anne!!

    • Megan Tietz says:

      Oh! How WONDERFUL to meet someone else who loves Lebanon. I am so jealous you’ve actually lived there. I was only there one week, and I still think about it every single day. I think you’ll LOVE An Unnecessary Woman!

      • Jason says:

        FYI: Rabih Alameddine, the author of An Unnecessary Woman, is a man. I also thought he was a woman after reading the book written in first person from a female perspective.

  3. I LOVE that you recommended SPECIAL TOPICS IN CALAMITY PHYSICS. While I read it long enough ago to have forgotten the details of plot, I will never forget what the book made me feel. I don’t think a book has made me feel all the feels as much as that book…which sounds perfect for Megan!

  4. Gina says:

    Well, I wish that you were my son’s high school English teacher when they were reading The Great Gatsby. He HATED it (and if I could bold that and make it bigger for emphasis, I would) He hasn’t had his heart broken so not sure if that angle would have worked but at least he would have had a better introduction and given it a chance. Now there’s no chance he’ll ever read it again…his personality. I don’t remember liking it or disliking it but have never read it since HS. Fun episode that highlighted that everyone has different taste in books – just because one person loved a book doesn’t’ mean it’s for everyone!

  5. Jamie says:

    Taylor Jenkins Reid sounds like she could be a read-alike for Jenny Colgan, my favorite indulgent author. 🙂 Also, I LOVED Megan’s excitement as you unveiled your recommendations. I felt like she was a kid on Christmas morning…I couldn’t help but giggle right along with her.

  6. Ginger says:

    We’ve got to get Megan turned onto book darts for her copy of Gatsby! I loved this episode and jotted down SO many books. And phrases – “splendid heartbreak” and “psychic weariness” are perfection. 🙂 And of course, all the subversive picks.

  7. Chris says:

    Anne, I love your podcast for book recommendations, but also for the best gift ideas for my daughter. I’m a reader, but she’s a READER. I’ve given her a subscription to the Signed First Editions Book Club that you mentioned on an early podcast and just received the Penguin Drop Caps set (mentioned this past fall), which will be her college graduation gift next May. They are gorgeous! Thanks for helping me with great gift ideas (these are two of many I’ve heard about from you); as well as for giving me an almost endless TBR list. You hard work and curation is much appreciated (except by my savings account).

    • Chris says:

      Also, your podcast is a bit of sunshine in my week. It never fails to cheer me up and restore my faith – with so many thoughtful readers out there, I’m reminded that the world is a pretty good place!

  8. Karisa says:

    After listening to this episode I immediately borrowed Fangirl from my online library (because it’s so much easier to read on a Kindle while breastfeeding) and really enjoyed it. I didn’t really like Eleanor and Park…. I’m not sure what I missed that others got, but Fangirl just made me happy. Thank you for that suggestion for this time of life.

  9. Crystal says:

    So happy to hear that someone else loved Fan Girl (although I wasn’t crazy about Carry On!)! Rainbow Rowell just has a way of writing that flows and makes you feel like she is your best friend. I loved her book “Attachments” and if you haven’t read it, I would recommend it.
    Also, so happy to hear that your ‘hated’ book was actually a book I couldn’t stand either. I forced myself to finish, thinking it would get better, but it definitely got worse. I have only heard and read great things about it and thought I was the only who just didn’t connect for some reason, but so glad to hear I wasn’t!

  10. Sarah says:

    After a couple of episodes where you talked about The Rules of Civility, I started it yesterday and finished it at about 2am this morning. Fantastic and thoroughly lives up to the recommendations you made. 2 for 2!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.