The Girls

The Girls

Author:
Series: The books everyone will be talking about this summer
Length: 368 pages
ASIN: 081299860X
This book has generated crazy amounts of hype: I feel like I've been hearing about it all year. Cline's story about a young girl drawn into a cult in 1960s California was inspired by Charles Manson and his followers. I started to read this as a potential Summer Reading Guide pick (first impressions: highly stylized, ambitious prose) and immediately realized it was too gritty for the guide, but I might pick it back up again this summer. Publication date June 14 2016.
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Indie Bound
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Barnes and Noble
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Barnes and Noble Nook
About the Book

Publisher’s description:

An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong—this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides’s The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad.

Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is in thrall to Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged—a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence.

Emma Cline’s remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestEmail this to someonePrint this page