On history, real and imagined.

On history, real and imagined.


This month’s twitterature post is sponsored by HarperCollins Christian Publishing.  

Welcome to twitterature, where we share short and sweet reviews of what we’ve been reading lately on the 15th of every month. I’ve been plugging away at my summer reading list, but I let a few books cut in line this month. (I just couldn’t wait to dive in!)


by Leif Enger

Peace Like a RiverThe description on this debut novel didn’t capture my fancy, but so many of you gushed about this book that I gave it a try anyway. (For that reason, I’m not saying a word about the plot!) I’m so glad I heeded your advice, and I totally understand how this book makes so many MMD readers’ Best Book I Ever Read list. For fans of Wendell Berry, Wallace Stegner, Barbara Kingsolver.


by Lydia Netzer

How to Tell Toledo from the Night SkyI stumbled across Netzer’s new novel at the bookstore, and—unlike Enger’s novel—the jacket description made me want to dive in immediately! Perhaps my high expectations doomed me to disappointment. While there were themes I appreciated (destiny, free will, soul mates), there was a lot that made me squirmy. (Opaque writing and so much sex.)


by Bruce Wydick

The Taste of Many MountainsThree grad students trace the path of a cup of coffee from the poverty-enmeshed Guatemalan village where the beans are grown to the San Francisco café where they’re ultimately consumed. The author, who frequently works with Compassion International and the World Bank, engages the fair-trade vs. free-trade debate, and I was surprised by his conclusions. Part economic treatise, part coming-of-age novel. An interesting read for econ junkies and coffee fanatics, aimed at the late teen crowd.


by Doris Kearns Goodwin

Team of RivalsI’ve been meaning to read this book for years, and now that I’ve finished (all 800+ pages!) I’m eager to dive into the author’s histories about the Kennedys and the Roosevelts. The first 100 pages were slow-going, because I knew so little about Lincoln’s political rivals. Once I got oriented, it was smooth sailing. I had no idea how much I didn’t know about Lincoln and the Civil War.

Two confessions: I do wish it was shorter, and I cried like a baby at the end. “Now he belongs to the ages.”


by Stephen King

11/22/63If you don’t read horror either, don’t worry: this novel isn’t typical King (even though it may still give you the heebie-jeebies as you ponder what if). The 800 pages of this time-traveling spin on the JFK assassination fly by. Truly. I finished this and handed it straight off to my husband, telling him he had to read it. (That’s high praise.) Creative, imaginative, entertaining.

What have you been reading lately?

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestEmail this to someonePrint this page

Tagged .


  1. Arenda says:

    Interesting selection of books, Anne! For some strange reason, I always thought Peace Like a River was written by Rudy Wiebe (whose books I don’t care for) so I’ve never considered reading it . . . now I’d love to, though! Thanks for the review. 🙂

  2. Deborah says:

    Team of Rivals is so worth the time investment. Detailed, nuanced, and accessible for non-specialists. Two cents from someone with a B.A. in American History!

  3. Pingback: Living In The Rain

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.